Happy 1st Birthday Design Waffle!

It’s hard to believe my little DIY blog is already a year old. It’s been interesting documenting all most of my projects this past year. I still have about 15 or so to catch up on. I’ll get there. Slowly but surely.

I didn’t start this blog for readership. And I don’t make anything or post anything for the purpose of gaining more readers. I just make things and document how it went, including the things that didn’t work so well. I do this for me because it makes me happy. Making others happy along the way is an added bonus. Not only has starting this blog helped me to remember all the crazy things I get myself and Travis into, but I feel humbled by knowing I’ve helped out so many fellow DIYers. Nothing warms my crafty heart more than receiving photos of a finished project from an excited reader who followed my blog—someone I’ve helped save some money and time.  This next year I’m going to keep doing my thing. A project here. A project there. Maybe two posts in a week, but not another until the next month. I’m sure you’ve realized by now that I’m unpredictable, a little nuts and I change my mind a lot. Mostly, I just plain love making things. I hope you tag along to see what’s coming up next.

What better way to celebrate than to eat waffles for breakfast this morning?

Belgian Waffles

I have to say, these are the best waffles I’ve ever had. No boxed waffle mix for us anymore. I’m ruined for the good stuff now. It takes a lot longer to make them, but once you try them you’ll be hooked too. Check out this recipe I found at http://www.beurrista.blogspot.com.

In case you missed some of my projects, here’s a recap of the past year:

As always, thanks for reading! Now go eat a waffle!

design-waffle-signature

This entry was posted in DIY Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 1st Birthday Design Waffle!

  1. First off I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to
    writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thanks!

    • Thank you! I usually think about what I’m going to write while I’m actually working on the project. Working with my hands has always been an escape for me and my mind. It’s relaxing and gives me time to think. Sometimes I’ll take a few notes along the way so I don’t forget. This seems to help me. I don’t particularly enjoy writing but I think I’m getting a little better, as I need to articulate the process of each project. I’m actually quite behind when it comes to posting… I have about 15 or so projects I haven’t blogged about yet! And the fact that I started taking graduate classes isn’t helping. I’m hoping to get another project up this weekend. Thanks for reaching out 🙂

Leave a comment